Glass: Mad Rush (CD)

ABC Classics & Jazz
Current Stock:
Sally Whitwell

WINNER: Classical Album of the Year, 2011 ARIA Awards

Philip Glass is that rarest of contemporary classical composers – a musician who has revolutionized the way art music is composed and found a massive audience in doing so. As much a pop and cult phenomenon as he is a descendant of Beethoven, Glass’ music has been used in classic films like Koyanisqaatsi and The Hours. But it’s in his music for solo piano that the essence of his art is revealed. In this groundbreaking album from Sydney pianist Sally Whitwell – the first of its kind ever to be recorded in this country – all of Glass’ finest solo piano music is represented. In an additional Australian angle, the Stuart piano is used, its crystalline tones ideally suited to Glass’ hypnotically beautiful music.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


1. Opening 
2. Metamorphosis I
3. Metamorphosis II
4. Metamorphosis III
5. Metamorphosis IV
6. Metamorphosis V
7. Mad Rush
8. Dead Things
9. Wichita Vortex Sutra