Baroque Tapas (CD)

ABC Classics & Jazz
$24.99 $14.99
You save $10.00
Current Stock:
Australian Brandenburg Orchestra

A tasting plate of gorgeous music! Experience a spicy 17th-century mix from Southern Europe, inspired by songs and dances of love, fire, beauty and freedom. The Australian Brandenburg Orchestra brings earthy improvisations and an adventurous spirit to the Baroque in this beautiful album.

2010 ARIA Award: Best Classical Album

- - - - -


1. KAPSBERGER: Arpeggiata from Primo libro d'intavolatura di chitarrone
2. FALCONIERI: Ciaconna from Il primo libro di canzoni
3. KAPSBERGER: Avrilla mia
4. KAPSBERGER: Bergamasca
5. KAPSBERGER: Canarios
6. CAZZATI: Passacaglia from Op.22, Trattenimento per camera d'arie, correnti, e balletti, Op. 22
7. MONTEVERDI: Chiome d'oro, from the Seventh Book of Madrigals
8. Spagnoletta - Improvisation
9. MONTEVERDI: Si dolce e il tormento
10. FALCONIERI: Folia (a 3) echa para mi Senora
11. Passacaglia Andaluz - Improvisation
12. FERRARI: Amanti, io vi so dire
13. LAURENTI: Introduzione Dodicesima from Suonate per camera, Op. 1
14. MERULA: Ciaccona from Canzoni Libro Terzo, Op. 12
15. Tarantella, La Carpinese - Improvisation
16. after KAPSBERGER: Toccata - Improvisation
17. HIDALGO: Esperar, sentir, morir

- - - - -


Classic FM Magazine

November 2010


“In addition to playing with a fabulous sense of joie de vivre, the Australian Brandenburg players demonstrate a chameleon-like ability to take on or subtly inject different musical styles into their Baroque starting-points....'crossover' Baroque performed with freshness, skill and charisma by real classical pros.”