Anthology (CD)

ABC Classics & Jazz
Current Stock:
The Idea of North

The Idea of North are Australian's finest a capella vocal group. In their 21st year, ABC Music presents Anthology, featuring their best tracks from across two decades as well as two brand new singles never heard before.

The Idea of North first met in 1993, as four students at the Canberra School of Music. They began to sing together - for fun. And so began one of the most remarkable success stories in Australian music.

21 years later, they still sing together, for fun. But some things have changed: two of the group's members, for a start - and also international recognition, two ARIA Awards for Best Jazz Album (2010 and 2013), a series of best-selling releases and a constant touring schedule that sees them in global demand.

Anthology presents iconic tracks from the group's history, showcasing the fresh arrangements, stunning singing and instant musical appeal for which they have become renowned.

But it also includes two songs never heard before - A Sailor's Lament and Embraceable You - making this album a must-have for all lovers of The Idea of North and anyone who wants to sample some of the finest musicality Australia has to offer.

Guest artists include James Morrison, Jonathan Zwartz, James Muller, Gordon Rytmeister

- - - - -


1. Big Yellow Taxi
2. In My Life
3. Embraceable You*
4. La Belle Dame Sans Regrets
5. One Minute More
6. Over The Rainbow
7. Thou Shalt
8. Straight To My Heart
9. Singin' A Cappella
10. Angel
11. Man In The Mirror
12. Dear John
13. Sweet, Sweet Spirit
14. My Foolish Heart
15. Mas Que Nada
16. A Sailor's Lament*
17. Isn't She Lovely
18. It Might As Well Be Spring
19. Windmills Of Your Mind
* Previously unreleased tracks

- - - - -