Solti Centenary Concert (DVD)

Arthaus Musik
$39.99 $14.99
You save $25.00
Current Stock:
World Orchestra for Peace, Valery Gergiev

Angela Gheorghiu (soprano), René Pape (bass), Tereza Gevorgyan (soprano), Matilda Paulsson (mezzo-soprano), Roberto Gòmez-Ortiz (tenor) & Ross Ramgobin (baritone)

Members of the Georg Solti Accademia & World Orchestra for Peace, Valery Gergiev

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Hosted by Valerie Solti

The Solti Centenary Concert in Chicago celebrated Sir Georg Solti’s 100th birthday on October 21, 2012, featuring the World Orchestra for Peace. This unique ensemble owes its existence to the vision of its founder, Sir Georg Solti, who believed passionately in peace and the power of music and musicians to be ambassadors for peace.

Charmingly hosted by Solti’s widow, Lady Valerie Solti, and featuring soloists such as Angela Gheorghiu and René Pape as well as members of the Georg Solti Accademia, this memorable evening presents musical highlights, all of which played a significant role in Solti’s life and career.

Besides excerpts from Mozart’s Le Nozze di Figaro, Die Zauberflöte and Don Giovanni or Verdi’s La Traviata and Rigoletto, this concert finds lovely musical moments in the 'Adagietto' from Mahler’s Fifth Symphony, Strauss’ Don Juan and Bartók’s masterful Concerto for Orchestra. Sousa’s Stars and Stripes Forever as the encore closes the performance with a smash.

Conductor Valery Gergiev was a good friend of his advisor Georg Solti. Together with Lady Valerie Solti and the World Orchestra for Peace he carries on Solti’s vision and maintains his memory.

Special Bonus Feature: “Solti’s Vision”, a film about the World Orchestra for Peace

Sound Format: PCM Stereo, DD 5.1, dts-HD Master Audio 5.1

Format: DVD 9 / NTSC

Subtitle Languages: DE, FR / DE (Bonus)

Running Time: 112 mins + 21 mins (Bonus)

FSK: 0

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


BBC Music Magazine

4 Stars

"In one sense, this is as much a record of an occasion as of a concert, though the music-making is top class throughout...the high point here is probably the quartet from Rigoletto...quite a nice package, nicely captured and presented."

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -


Bartók: Concerto for Orchestra, BB 123, Sz.116

Mahler: Symphony No. 5 in C sharp minor - Adagietto

Mozart: In diesen heil'gen Hallen (from Die Zauberflöte)

Sousa: The Stars and Stripes Forever

Strauss, R: Don Juan, Op. 20

Verdi: Addio del passato (from La Traviata)

Verdi: Bella figlia dell'amore (from Rigoletto)

Mozart: Le nozze di Figaro, K492: Overture

Mozart: La ci darem la mano (from Don Giovanni)